Poets logo

I See the Words as Sparrows

some short poems

By Charles TurnerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I See the Words as Sparrows
Photo by Roshan Tmg on Unsplash

i see the words as sparrows

which cannot reach the ground

stuck in trees like arrows

feathers all tucked and bound

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Stopping so Suddenly

stopping so suddenly my brain crashed

i stood there woodenly impulses smashed

then a dog

piddled

and my leg warmed

i felt so

little

and so alarmed

i heard a butterfly swooning

saw it crash on the lea

i stood there mooning

it could have been me

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Each year, I write something for Christmas. Sometimes I like the result, sometimes not. The big problem for me is, all the cliches and nice phrases are overworked by thousands of writers and would-be writers. It's hard to get beyond that and still sound "Christmasy." The following may or may not be subject to revision, pending further review.

"My Gift For You Will Be"

written with Tony Bennet's voice in my ear

My gift to you will be

More than a prize

Underneath a Christmas tree

Wise and wonderful bride

A star will take us

On a magical ride

Soon you will see

The world below us will be

A jewel in the mist

O’er it we pause

Shocking Mister Claus

With a long lover’s kiss

My love for you will be

More than a prize

More than a prize

list
Like

About the Creator

Charles Turner

My work is based on who I am now and have been in the past. It is based on a lifetime of reading. Autobiography, standard fiction, sci/fi, fantasy, westerns. I plan to put together a collection of short stories to publish via Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.