Poets logo

I see me....

A poem in my eyes

By Amber Daniel Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Me

I look in the mirror

Looking for...... me

I see a stranger mimicking my every move

“Where am I?” I ask

“Am I lost?”

I stop, close my eyes, take in 3 deep breaths, open my eyes and there I am looking back at myself.

Now I see the hurt, the scars and pain no one else sees, because I see through the mask, beyond the surface. I know my secrets, dreams and desires.

I know who I am while the world sees who they choose to see. But all the while... I see me!

On stage singing my heart out

Driving down the highway

Eating, reading, sleeping

Laughing, crying or in silence

You can’t but ..

I see me!

Hearing me speak

Comforting me when I cry

Making me laugh till I can’t breathe

You still can not but..

I see me.

In order to see me you must know me you must love me NOT your way but my way and completely. It’s impossible to love another that way so no one will ever in this lifetime BUT

I SEE ME!

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Amber Daniel

I’m a Cali girl making my mark in the world the best way I can. I crave knowledge and love to share what I’ve learned along with my gifts and talents.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Amber Daniel Written by Amber Daniel

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.