Poets logo

'I See Me'

What is true beauty?

By Ashlei NicholePublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

Reflections bathed in the glory of night

Untouched...unaltered purity in the rarest form

Face singing the hymn of a life well lived

Beauty in its prime

The like of which shall not be concealed

Glowing highlight from nature's contour

For what can diminish my natural blemish?

How do I hide that which is my rightful flaw?

Sermons of enhancement ring in my ear

The stinging sound of imperfections uncovered

As the insults grow louder

Shouting at me to paint over my blank canvas

I trace back to a child

Joyfully unaware of societal expectation

The innocence of clear eyes

Finding beauty along the trace of each crack in the earth

Discovering individuality in all of life's diversity

Squeezing all that's exquisite from the hurtful seams

I stare at her that looks back at me

Seeing with undimmed sight

Greatness formerly taken for granted

Admiration for my worth

Inclusive of all it entails

I leave me unchanged

Wrapped in nature's makeup

Tying up the empty speech

Once known as my anthem

My new foundation defined by value

"Beauty is in the eye of the beholder"

And what I behold is a sight to see

With burning eyes of love

I finally see me

art
Like

About the Creator

Ashlei Nichole

¡Hola Hola! My name is Ashlei. I’m an eager twenty three year old writer who loves the self expression that is poetry. However, I’m not limited to poetry.

I. LOVE. WRITING. PERIOD.

Give me your thoughts and criticisms. Vamonos!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.