Poets logo

I See Colours

A poem

By Gal MuxPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Art by author

I love the colour red

I am not sure about red flowers though 

It seems too bold a colour on something so delicate and gentle

I never pick red flowers. I just let them be because they seem to be demanding of it

I'd take black roses over red roses any day

I do love the colour red on bedsheets though 

Somehow it feels so gentle when you lay on it. You feel so protected.

I love the colour red

---✒

I love the colour orange 

It's so vibrant and joyful

I love it on carrots, clothes, walls, hair, tangerines and cake

Orange is one reason why I love the Dutch so much 

One day every year, they paint everything orange, take the day off and go celebrate in the streets

Together with visiting Amsterdam during the Canal Parade to experience and celebrate the joy of being free and proud full blast, being there on King's day is top of my bucket list 

I live for that day when I'll finally experience a true bathe in orange

I love the colour orange

---✒

I do not like the colour yellow

Not on flowers, not on fruits, not on food, not on anything

I do like mango though. In fact, I love it very much. I love it in salads, in juice blends and as chunks. But mango is not my favourite fruit just because it's yellow… Even pineapple

Frequent bouts of malaria as a child made me loathe the colour. Everything turns yellow when you have the illness. Your eyes, your tongue, your fingertips, your nails, your palms and your soles… Everything that comes out, is also yellow…

No, I don't like yellow

I don't mind it on the sun though 

Sometimes they put a smiley face on it and that makes it a little bit better but,

I do not like the colour yellow 

---✒

I love the colour green 

I am a farmer and green is my colour

It's the colour that feeds me. It's the colour that helps me grow

When everything is green, I am in bliss. In paradise

Its the colour of vibrancy, rejuvenation, life, good health, productivity, filled bellies and breathtaking nature

Green is the colour of continuation

It's the promise that everything is going to be okay even after all was just grey and dust

I love the colour green

---✒

I love the colour blue

It's just pure and calm

Blue skies are stunning to look at. Blue oceans are calming to experience

I do not understand why they say you are feeling blue when you are feeling low though

Shouldn't it be you are feeling grey? 

But that would mean grey is bad

When the clouds are grey it means it will pour and that means everything will turn green again. And I love the colour green so grey is a good colour

I love the colours blue and grey

---✒

I love the colour purple

I must have been royalty in a previous life

A regal queen

Loved, emulated, admired and revered by many

Bathing in adoration and adulation

Enjoying pineapples, furnished in solid gold and dazzling in precious diamonds

That would probably explain my obsession with the colour purple 

I love the colour purple

---✒

I love the colour pink

To me, it's the baby to colour purple 

A cute kitten that is on its journey to glory

My soul probably reminisces its time as a princess before I was queen 

And even though I can't remember such a time, the colour pink helps in relishing being a Disney princess

Wearing pretty dresses and tiaras, living in a mighty castle, singing with birds and picking beautiful flowers next to gentle deer 

Being authentic. Being young and free. Being joyful and blissful

I love the colour pink

---✒

I love the rainbow

If I had my own rainbow, if they'd entrust me with the job of creating a rainbow it would only have the colours red, orange, green, pink, purple, blue and grey

That would be my rainbow

In fact, I already have it painted and hanged in my room 

All colours are beautiful though

Most of them at least

I won't mention the ones that are not because I wouldn't want to put anyone on the spot (sorry yellow)

I love my rainbow

---✒

We all should embrace the colour red

Tall, short, thin, thick, black, white or brown

Whether we like tea or coffee, blueberries or strawberries, pineapple or mango, the colour yellow or blue, confetti on our cake or muffins with our juice, flats or stilettos, whether we like to dance in the rain or sit by the fireplace

Red is the colour that pumps in our veins. It's the fuel that helps our systems run

It's the colour that is in all of us. The red in you is the red that is in me 

Whether you like me or not, whether you approve of me or not and whether you feel like you are better than me or not

Inside, I am just like you. Inside, you are just like me

We all should embrace the colour red

By Tim Marshall on Unsplash

---✒

Copyright ©️ Gal Mux 2021

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Gal Mux

Lover of all things reading & writing, 🥭 &

🍍salsas, 🍓 & vanilla ice cream, MJ & Beyoncé.

Nothing you learn is ever wasted - Berry Gordy

So learn everything you can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.