Poets logo

I Scream at the World

I scream at the world because I'm often misunderstood.

By Erica LindseyPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
[Photo Credit: Samir Belhamra ]

I scream at the world because I'm often misunderstood.

Like....countless of others.

It's not a battle of who has it worst.

Because our storms differs.

Yours may be physical whereas mine is mental.

I scream at the world because....you see...grey clouds were created.

By those I had trusted. Those that I had once loved.

I took those grey clouds and formed lightning with my overthinking.

Thunder with my depression.

Which caused the very raging storm that lives within me.

I scream at the world because no matter how much I try to tame myself.

I erupt all over again.

I know that I control my emotions, but you see....empaths can't do that.

Your moods or vibes affects mine.

I could be fine, but you come around and now I'm out of whack.

I scream at the world because I wear many faces.

So many, that I'm often confused of who I really am.

I want to get out, but I can't break through those the mold of layers.

Layers that took years for me to build.

So, I just give up.

I scream at the world because I refuse to let you in.

You see a part of me that I'm willing to share.

But, there's a part that I wouldn't dare.

Not that it's bad.

I just don't trust you.

Like a sponge, I absorb all of your mannerism.

Even the ones that you try to hide.

Besides writing words on paper, I have a talent of seeing past your veil.

You see, life taught me that trick.

But, it also taught how to be rough, heartless, and that bish....

I scream at the world because I'm disconnected from your reality.

I don't see things the way that you do.

It doesn't mean that I'm empty.

Or that I'm right and you're wrong.

It means that....I don't care.

You haven't given me a reason to.

They say, pretend or fake it.

Be less you.

Why?

Because they can't handle it? Or don't want to?

Then why should I put on a show for you?

I scream at the world....because I need to hear myself.

Over the pain that I can't spit out.

Because nobody is listening.

And I won't allow them to see me....weak.

So, I smile and laugh.

art
Like

About the Creator

Erica Lindsey

Mum of 3/ Writer/ Poet/ Culinarian Creator/ Martial artist/ A lover of all things creative/ Overthinker

IG: @erlindsey Blog: https://www.inthelifeoferica.wordpress.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.