Poets logo

I SAW TWO ROADS

And I Only Travelled One

By Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)Published 3 months ago 1 min read
4
I SAW TWO ROADS
Photo by Denys Nevozhai on Unsplash

Reaching the top of my journey,

the pinnacle of my childhood dream,

I saw two roads

One that glittered in the distance

And another that weathered beneath my feet.

Every step I took hurt

I threaded my path carefully with tears

Realising that what I had just achieved

was not the end

but the beginning.

The beginning of a mission 

to open the minds of the little ones

and impart knowledge,

To shine the light on their paths

So they too can reach the pinnacle of their dreams.



As I retraced my route back to my roots

I lost sight of the road

That glittered in the distance

Maybe I'll go there someday

But until then I must continue my mission.

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)

I love reading and researching to gain inspiration and ideas. I appreciate those who write and I hope I can inspire you with my writings too. 

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Grogu2 months ago

    Really very emotional and my favorite part is this: "impart knowledge". This is our duty to impart the lessons we learned to make them their way easier. Trying to help them not to make the same mistakes we made.

  • "Retraced my route back to my roots". I really loved that! Your poem was so emotional and I absolutely loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.