Poets logo

I Own My Witchery

a poem of power

By Maria Shimizu ChristensenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Own My Witchery
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Don't tell me to settle down,

to calm down,

to pipe down.

I'm soaring on wings

made of broken things

made whole by my anger

and I won't come down.

I won't back down.

I won't look down.

Tell me instead

that the high road

isn't always the right road

and I am unbowed

in the face of

the weight of

expectations

by the boatload,

bestowed

by people like you.

Or I'll tell myself.

That's better

than being a debtor

to your good will,

waiting for the poison pill,

the sleeping pill,

anything to escape

the misery,

the natural history

of your slippery

slope.

I own my witchery.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Maria Shimizu Christensen

Writer living my dreams by day and dreaming up new ones by night

The Read Ink Scribbler

Bauble & Verve

Instagram

Also, History Major, Senior Accountant, Geek, Fan of cocktails and camping

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.