Poets logo

I opened the Magical Door...

My childhood...

By S BPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
I opened the Magical Door...
Photo by Shiraz Muhamed on Unsplash

I opened the magical door and saw, the streets from my childhood.

Neighbourhood where I cycled as a child, free-willed and wild.

Where my neighbours waved as I passed them, ringing my tiny bell.

I opened the magical door and heard, my mother calling us for dinner.

The family gathering, chatting , laughing, passing each other the curry.

Making jokes and cracking up on tales of clumsiness and pranks.

I opened the magical door and smelt, fermented pickles, rice and Daal with a generous sprinkle of coriander and happiness.

The aroma bouncing around, climbing up the walls and out through the window, waving good-bye as it goes, to my childhood.

I opened the magical door and touched fragments of my past, present and future consumed by adulthood.

Grasping fleeting moments of my ever-escaping freedom and my never-ending dreams.

I opened the magical door and found, myself wide awake, staring at the apartment ceiling, reminiscing the past.

Gone but not forgotten, tales of a past well lived and loved.

The ghosts of fond memories that inhabit my soul.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

S B

A mother, a homeschooler, a writer, a poet... and so much more. No one role defines me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.