Poets logo

I Never Was Great With Words

or, alternatively, the wishing well.

By Kendall WisniewskiPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

I never was great with words,

tripping over my tongue with every clumsy breath.

Yet you listened as though I was a jazz singer,

even when instead of blues, I was singing my grocery list.

No, I was never good with words,

better with sweeping paintbrushes and scratching graphite.

Yet I couldn't ever capture your essence just right,

though I'd try as long as you let me.

I have never been good with words,

more content to listen.

a wishing well for you to drop your problems into like coins,

in hopes that if I tried hard enough I could turn them to magic,

to miracles.

I am still not good with words,

though I often don't try to be anymore.

What good will it do when no one is willing to listen?

I will never be good with words,

and all you've read has meant nothing,

and will probably never mean anything.

But still, you have been my wishing well

if only for a moment.

Until you think you need me again.

When all you really need is a wishing well.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Kendall Wisniewski

A 17-Year-Old Writer who loves art, books, and music

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.