Poets logo

I never realized until I became a mother

Curtal Sonnet

By Diani AlvarengaPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
28
I never realized until I became a mother
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

I made my mother cry waterfalls several times.

As a ten-year-old, I did not care for her tears.

Now that I am a mother, I wish I could go back.

I think about my behavior back then sometimes.

Was I the reason my mom drank many beers?

Even so, in school, she made sure I’d stay on track.

Maybe in the future, you will make me cry,

but I’ll get over it, and your words will fade to black.

No matter what, I’ll help you confront your fears,

and like my mom used to tell me, I’ll tell you to fly

and not be afraid of changes, I’ll always have your back.

Sonnet
28

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Many memories as we age and wish we could act differently. All forgiven, portrayed well in your poem. 💕

  • ema2 months ago

    So sweet poem, I am not a mum but you make me remember mine

  • Rebekah Crawley2 months ago

    The beers part hit me in the heart. As kids we thing everything is out fault don't we! Thank you for sharing this vulnerable piece and congrats on Top Story! <3

  • Gabriel Huizenga2 months ago

    Beautiful, honest, and real. Thank you for sharing this <3

  • Kodah2 months ago

    Beautiful poem💕 Very well-deserved top story! 💖

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Congratulations on your top story! Well deserved! 🥳

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • A. J. Schoenfeld2 months ago

    Nicely written. I can confirm it is inevitable your child will make you cry, sometimes tears of heartache, tears of exhaustion, tears of worry, but also tears of joy.

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Beautiful poem.... I WISH I could go back sometimes. Congrats, Diani!

  • Carol Townend2 months ago

    This is very much heartfelt. Not only is it expressive of the difficulties we face in motherhood, it is expressive of the many dreams we have for our children.

  • LASZLO SLEZAK2 months ago

    Beautiful works.

  • Natasha Collazo2 months ago

    A beautiful thought of the hardships of motherhood.

  • Joe Patterson2 months ago

    My mother would appreciate this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.