Poets logo

I Never Imagined

What would lie ahead...

By A.R. Tanner Published about a year ago 1 min read
1
I Never Imagined
Photo by Chastagner Thierry on Unsplash

I never imagined

What would lie ahead.

Sometimes it seems to take all I have

Just to make it out of my bed.

That dreadful day you left us

Still incinerated into my head.

Six months have gone and passed,

The days slip by in a blur.

Just when I think I'm okay,

The tears start to occur.

I think of all the memories,

And all the things that once were.

Although things on earth

Will never be the same,

I feel better knowing

It was the angels who came.

And it was by the great Lord

That your beautiful soul was claimed.

Like from the book of Psalm,

"Oh, that I had wings of a dove!"

My mind is at ease,

Knowing you are above.

And with the rest of my days

I'll remember you, with all my love.

Until the day

We shall meet again,

I will live my life to the fullest

And look forward to when

I finally see your lovely face,

And your unfaltering grin.

By Julia Kadel on Unsplash

sad poetryheartbreakfact or fiction
1

About the Creator

A.R. Tanner

Author of 'Grief Stricken Choices' by A.R. Tanner also 'Torn In Two' published under Amanda R. Spurgeon https://www.xlibris.com/en/bookstore & Amazon

www.wattpad.com/user/amandatanner1187

Instagram @amanda.tanner1187

TikTok @amanda.tanner11

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.