Poets logo

I Must

Free Myself

By Yasmine RiveraPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
3

I was once tall standing,

but now I'm wilting away.

You should have told me I wasn't enough,

maybe it would've caused less pain.

Maybe I wouldn't be writing you this.

Can we go back to how we first met?

I could see right through those walls you built up,

yet I regret ever tearing them down.

I looked at you with the intent of making you more than a friend,

yet I regret that too.

So, I waved, a small hello to say.

That's where the mistakes were made.

You looked back,

red in the face,

wondering how someone like me would want to talk to you.

But, you were right,

why did I even start anything?

You waved back

and my heart grew content.

I smiled,

though I wish I hadn't.

You didn't trust my intentions.

You were broken and I was beyond repair.

You'd think I was the one with the trust issues,

but it was you.

You were so used to the emotional pain,

it took you hurting me to realize I was here to stay.

It was my fault because I let you.

But I knew that was the only way you could trust me.

I let you hurt me

no wonder you haven't stopped.

It's hard needing to let you go

because I don't want to.

I don't!

But you caged me

and now I'm setting myself free.

I hope you can forgive me.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Yasmine Rivera

I am 16 years old with a passion for writing poetry and books. My material is incredibly melancholy, so do not forget the tissues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.