Poets logo

I Miss You

A poem for a funeral.

By Ruth StewartPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
6
I Miss You
Photo by Diego Lozano on Unsplash

I miss you.

On the days when something happens,

And I need a chat on the phone,

I miss you.

*

When I achieve greatness,

And you don't mind if I boast,

I miss you.

*

When I get stressed,

and I need to vent,

I miss you.

*

When the days lengthen into Summer.

I see you.

*

When the stars shine, In the quiet of the night

I feel you.

*

When the grandchildren play,

And they look a certain way,

I see you.

*

When you visit in my dreams,

I see you.

*

Although I do see you,

I still miss you.

***

I wrote this because I wanted to try to write a non-religious poem for a funeral. Poems for funerals are sought after, and it's hard to write one when we are deep in the pangs of grief. I didn't write anything for my grandparents' funerals, maybe because the grief was so fresh.

My grandparents are still in my dreams. I dreamt of my grandpop with long hair (something he would never entertain!), and I got to cut it for him. It was lovely. My Nan is usually in the background in my dreams, which is typical of her. She was never one for the limelight.

Even my Dad is in my dreams. I dreamt he was living in a caravan with his other family - very much alive, although not well. It was a frustrating dream because I couldn't get near him. Other people kept getting in the way.

Everyone has different beliefs about death, but I love to see the dreams where they turn up. Even if my brain remembers them and puts my emotions into pictures, I am still grateful for the things that remind me of all the people I love.

heartbreak
6

About the Creator

Ruth Stewart

I'm a grandmother of four amazing grandchildren and a mum of three fabulous children. I write poetry mainly, also prose and the odd story. I live in Scotland, UK. For a secret link to watch me read my favourite poems click right here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 months ago

    Though this was heartbreaking, it was lighthearted compared to the usual deep grief that funeral poems have!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    This is stunning and beautiful. It is very balanced and I can imagine it giving some people who are going through grief and attending funerals some peace and comfort!

  • This was So Realistically written 📝 💖🥹 Thank you for writing and Sharing this Great Piece❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.