Poets logo

I Miss Us.

our love was warmer than the ice.

By Ari Asha LovePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Winter always makes me think of you....

We met under a Taurus moon

And I still remember the taste of June,

Your lips and the way they quivered;

Your words and how you whispered

My name under your breath.

I still remember the pain I felt

When you walked out of my life.

I still remember that night,

When you said we’d be forever.

I love the way you liked to pleasure me,

And I love the way you used to treasure me.

We met on that pond when the water was still ice,

And the world around us was not so nice.

Yet you and I, we had each other.

You and I, we got to be lovers.

I am so thankful for the time we shared,

However much it was limited.

We met in Spring and parted ways two seasons later.

I knew from the start that you might just be temporary.

But I had myself convinced that we could be forever.

I had myself convinced that we should be together.

Not saying I was aiming for perfection,

But often I did notice our incompatibilities.

Often I did notice where we fell out of harmony.

You craved attention

And I craved affection,

The biggest thing we had in common.

But either way,

I still think of you so often.

And I see your posts

And deep down I know,

That you have to be thinking of me too.

You told me you had brothers,

And they all would pick on you relentlessly.

Sometimes I wonder if you took my advice

And learned to stand your ground.

I wonder if you still let that fuckboy come around.

You were so kind and patient,

And nobody around you seemed to appreciate it.

But I did.

I enjoyed seeing you at that pond everyday.

It was like heaven sitting there with you;

Even in the cold it was so warm with you.

I remember you asked about the fish and

We had to google to see how they could still breathe.

I remember how you tasted and the way you made my heart beat;

The way it felt to be so close to you.

Do you remember when that kid came up to us;

And how you got along so well with him?

I admired your vigor for life.

I admired your essence and your light.

So pretty and kind.

You wanted to be an actress,

And I see you posting videos on your page.

I share them

When I’m not afraid of you finding out.

You carried so much doubt

And it’s so nice to see you pushing past it.

You’re so beautiful inside and out,

And I’m so glad to have known you.

Your touch was so gentle

And I know anyone would be so lucky.

You were so sweet to me

And for that I am grateful.

I am so thankful to have witnessed your light,

And to have been the center of your world at sometime.

Perfection is an illusion but

Surely you had to be it.

We weren’t perfect, but surely you were.

Some days I hardly think of us

But most days I can only ever think of back then.

We tried to be friends

But not being in person was so hard.

Things were so much better in the flesh.

It’s weird to think that you were my best.

I know there’s better out there somewhere,

But it’s just not fair we haven’t met yet.

I miss you so much sometimes,

And it can be so hard at times.

Sometimes I convince myself

That you could have been a soulmate.

Sometimes I tell myself that you were my soulmate,

But it’s still up for debate.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Ari Asha Love

Been writing all my life but the question is whether or not I truly take it seriously.

You can find me on most social media platforms as afroqueergod :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.