Poets logo

i’m supposed to be better by now

Why am I not better?

By Joann ClaudePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
i’m supposed to be better by now
Photo by Matteo Badini on Unsplash

I’m supposed to be better by now.

Why am I not better?

I don’t have time to not be better.

I have little eyes watching me

Waiting for me to tell them

Everything’s going to be okay

And life is worth living

Do I even believe that?

I have friends

Who need me

To just hang out

And smile

And laugh at their jokes

Get out of bed

When we have plans

Not have breakdowns in bars

Or panic walking down the street

I have parents

Who didn’t ask

For their child to be this way

Medical bills

They shouldn’t have to pay

Money dropped

On a lost cause

I have a little girl

Inside me

Who needs to know

That she is enough

That she is loved

That she’s going to make it

Do I even believe that?

I don’t have time to not be better.

Why am I not better?

I’m supposed to be better by now.

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Joann Claude

“I'm not sure why

I have the inexplainable urge

To tell everyone I come in contact with

That I'm dying”

-a million thoughts all at once after a brief interaction with a customer at work

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.