Poets logo

I'm Still Not A-sleeping

Sleep Frustration: A Poem Using Rhythm.

By Carol TownendPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
3
I'm Still Not A-sleeping
Photo by Cassidy Dickens on Unsplash

I get into my bed, intending

To rest my head,

But my bed hates me,

So I get up instead;

The clock ticks away,

But my eyes are wide awake,

They say, "No, Go Away,

The day is here to stay!

So I jump up sleepy-eyed,

Dreaming away of lullabies,

But my eyes are a-peeping,

Though it's time for sleeping!

I make myself some tea,

But now it's time to pee,

The toilet says, "Piss off!"

Then it laughs at me.

I'm now awake and dreaming,

While the world is a-sleeping;

My mind is now hallucinating

That my kids are a-waking!

Finally my eyes are shutting,

But now the car-horns are beeping,

It's the middle of the bloody night,

And I'm still not a-sleeping!

inspirationalsurreal poetryperformance poetryart
3

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.