Poets logo

I'm Sorry/Self Doubt

Self Doubt *un-ended*

By Ty GreenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I’M SORRY/ SELF DOUBT

I’m sorry for being such a disgrace,

I’m sorry for you too,

I’m sorry for changing from what I once was,

I’m sorry that I’ve crushed all your hopes and dreams,

I’m sorry that I’ve killed your aspirations and goals,

I’m sorry that I’ve ruined your life,

I’m sorry your days were gray, plans and visions fade to blackness, and skies are filled with storm clouds,

I wish I never hurt you,

Wish I was strong enough to build you up…instead of pulling you down,

Wish I was strong enough to not have been pulled down myself,

I’m sorry to be a disappointment,

I’m sorry you can’t depend on me,

I’m sorry you can’t trust me,

I’m sorry you have to ask me over and over, because you don’t count on me,

I’m sorry that you’re ashamed,

I’m sorry that my pride has been shattered (but I still try to pile it up),

I’m sorry that I can’t look myself in the eye,

I’m sorry that these hands no longer mean what you once looked forward to:

• If they no longer mean protection

• If they no longer hold your heart

• If they no longer offer you strength

• If they no longer keep you

• If they no longer ask for your love

• If they don’t show support…

Do they hold any meaning now?

Do they hold your meaning?

Do they mean SOMETHING to you?

Or, now, are they just hands?

I’m sorry…

That you no longer look forward,

You don’t look forward to the future,

You don’t look forward to coming home,

You don’t want to wake up or go about your day,

You aren’t excited to feel the sunlight on your skin,

I’m sorry that a stole your joy,

I’m sorry that I lost it,

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.