Poets logo

I'm sorry I shouted.

Trial and tribulations of parenthood with depression.

By Billie WhytePublished 19 days ago 1 min read
1
I'm sorry I shouted.
Photo by Bethany Beck on Unsplash

I'm sorry I shouted my sweet little boy.

You did nothing wrong but play with your toys, just a little too loud and a little too long but I promise you now, you did nothing wrong.

See mummy has a problem with sensory things. She get's overwhelmed with the stress that sounds bring.

I love you more than the moon and stars combined, I'm sorry I shouted, sweet child of mine.

I'm sorry you saw me cry today too. It's not your fault, nor to blame are you.

It's just how I felt about the house that day; Laundry piled, dishes sky high, little time to spend with you and play.

The guilt kicks in and there's little to say, except I'm sorry I couldn't play with you today.

It's bedtime sweet boy, tomorrow's a new day, perhaps the depression will have gone away.

I'm sorry dear boy for letting you down, I promise that one day I'll turn it around.

I'm sorry my sweet for being half present, I hope to god you don't grow up with resentment.

But please understand that from the bottom of my heart, my entire world revolves around you and your laugh.

My dear sweet boy, there's nothing left to say, except I'm really sorry I shouted today.

Family
1

About the Creator

Billie Whyte

Forever wingin' it.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.