Poets logo

I'm Sorry California

Just a 20 something in Long Beach.

By Aleks ToivolaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I'm sorry California.

I don't know if you want to hear it.

For so long

You've been in pain.

No longer golden.

At least no gold left to hide

In the physical.

Even the age of a distant time,

a golden era, if you will

the pain and suffering that came with it

no longer able to hide.

Beach filth

In nouns

Person, place or thing.

You're crying.

Bleeding out,

we cut you open.

Smog.

Grime rhyming with crime.

What more can we take that you have not given?

I am sorry California,

though I appear as a traveler

a pilgrim in a beautiful yet unholy land

filled with the neon

graveyard

of what once was.

I don't know

if you want to hear it,

But,

I'm sorry California.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.