Poets logo

I’m ready

What I was waiting for….

By kathleen rojasPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
Like
Dramatic lenticular cloud over Harold’s Cross

I sat for a moment while visiting Mount Jerome.

Just to pause and have a ponder, very far from home.

I relish in my surroundings when everything is history.

Regarding the River Poddle eager to dive into its mystery.

With its caverns, canals and moats. Slim winding stream.

Are you natural? Made by man or a little in between?

Many tales have you been mentioned, important jobs have you held.

I’ve read all about you, but my curiosity not quelled.

Aided by engineered gravity? More than a puddle?

Think of all you have seen. An enigma much more subtle.

As I sat with my thoughts swirling deep through the sewers,

my fixation suddenly drawn up towards something quite newer.

What could cause my attention to refocus where my eyes were?

My consciousness redirected and burst up like a geyser?

The likes of it, I have never ever seen.

A rarity they say, to me out of some dream.

It hovered there pure and white, sprung forth out of the deep blue.

Misty and sparkling as it reflected an ethereal dew.

For a second I was ready! I’ll go with you now!

It was obvious they’d come here for me- but how?

I realized I’d been waiting for them all this time.

Busying myself in nonsense- what a crime!

A closeted intergalactic wanderlust.

But my moment was too fleeting! my eyes were given time to adjust.

A lenticular cloud it is called, a phenomenon of weather.

Moistened air layers over an eddie. Something common to be seen? Almost never.

It’s not an every day occurrence which is the only reason it made me leap.

No- I don’t normally walk around hoping E.T. comes for me in my sleep.

I am a grounded man, with a practical, stable mind.

But what fun if it were true! Close encounter of another kind.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

kathleen rojas

Just letting the constant stream of words flow….

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.