Poets logo

I’m On My Way Home

To a place where I need to be

By Kiran Kumar Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
"I’m On My Way Home" |© Design by Kiran Kumar

I'm on my way home

to a place where I need to be.

Where love resides,

where fires burn bright,

where warmth is found,

where joy exists,

where laughter rings out,

where loved ones live

with open hearts and arms.

A safe place to return at

the end of a day, journey.

I close the doors

and push the world out.

Away from the noise

that disturbs my heart and soul.

I'm in my own space now

with those I love

and who love me back.

I'm in a place that recalibrates

me to who I exactly am.

I'm at home at last where

I truly belong.

There is beauty in the geography of my body,

from the top of my head to the ends of my toes.

Others may not see it.

But why do I care?

It's me who needs to see what is there.



The greying of hair and lines on my face

gives away a story of the passing of time.

The extra pounds that had time to accumulate

can be accepted or shed as I see fit.



The creaking knees, the aches and pains

coupled with the softness of skin.

All make me the person I am now today

at this very point in time.



I don't look at who I was because that's long gone.

That beauty is now in the past.

What I need to accept is how I am now,

beauty lies in the geography of my body,

of my mind, and of my soul.



©Kiran Kumar 21st September 2021

Thank you for reading my poetry.🙏



___________________________________________________



If you are interested in supporting my work, designs and getting my first book of the ground. Then feel free to Buy me a coffee. 💐 Thank you 💐





social commentary
1

About the Creator

Kiran Kumar

I'm a poet, writer, speaker, digital artist and podcaster - with a lifetime of stories, lessons learnt and some wit.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.