Poets logo

I'm Okay

I'm not okay.

By Lindsay RagsdalePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Here I am, it's 1 AM and my depression inches its way to the surface again, declaring not to be ignored. It crept through like the unsolicited advice from a stranger that manages to break through all of the defenses you've put in motion in effort to be unreachable. Here I sit in this deafening silence that is far too noisy for me to comprehend a single thought as they race through my mind.

I saunter my way down the main pathway that leads to the shoreline. I think about how it would be to take a fistful of sleepers and walk into the water as it swallows me. Is it welcoming? Is it greedy with its engulfing of another entity? My thoughts are interrupted by a vision of everyone sleeping soundly back home, unaware of my absence. I pick up my feet and turn back to the direction I came. I stop for a moment and look back over my shoulder, "Another time." I say almost soundlessly.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lindsay Ragsdale

My three personality traits: hopeless romantic, cry baby, and dumb bitch.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.