Poets logo

I'm Not My Past

I want to show people I'm not my past

By ArthyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I'm Not My Past
Photo by Anita Jankovic on Unsplash

I want to show people that I am not my past.

My trauma does not give me the right to be an asshole.

Although I want to be as cruel as the world was once to me.

I’ve found strength in my pain

My greatest weakness because my greatest strength

What brought me weak down to my knees is what keeps my head held high now.

I want to be able to walk around without a care in the world.

I wish I was that tough enough.

I’ve been told by many to grow a thicker skin

But see I disagree

I know this world has treated me poorly.

But that doesn’t mean I can act as shitty

For so long I tried so hard to become something I wasn’t

To be the very thing everyone told me to be

But I’m not what they want me to be.

I think being the sensitive soul that I am

Is the bravest quality that one can have

Emotional even after going through hell and back but I’m learning to embrace that

Cause in my eyes I think being able to navigate in this world with kindness rather than with hate even after being hurt, is something that should not be looked at as weak or naive.

It should be looked at as an act of true bravery.

And I think it’s harder to not act bitter because after all, it's easier to turn to hate than it is to love.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Arthy

Hi, Thanks for reading my writing! ig: axrthy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.