Poets logo

I'm Erica

Living with chronic illnesses

By Erica JordanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Living with a chronic illness; but many, that’s the hardest to deal with.

My Name is Erica and I’ve got more illnesses, most you’ve probably have never heard of.

I was born with a heart defect called Tricuspid Atresia, along with most of my right ventricle missing.

I can name probably twenty other illnesses, that stem just from this. Alongside with overflowing hands with more illness.

It took about 33 years to accept that I am dying. I wasn't supposed to live past four years.

Three open heart surgeries, multiple corrective surgeries, two Fontan procedures.

Now, I'm open to learn more and open to MY faith. Buddhism and Hinduism.

I can feel my life and see where I'm going for the first time. With clarity I can see.

For someone who has feared death since she was a kid, hid her scars, covered herself up.

Scared for anyone to see her weaknesses and criticized, or snickered at her underweight frail body.

It wasn’t until I had two years visiting hell and back to, to find someone. ME

I learned about where I fit in, what I believe in, and am starting to believe I can be loved again .

I remember way too much from my past. It haunts me.

I am not scared of my own haunted house.

If I can build it, I can tear it down just as easily.

I took those critics and snickers and looked at them head on.

Only I can allow someone the ability to tear me down.

Which I chose no.

No.

This is ME, this is MY life and story. Not yours

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Erica Jordan

Tea is drug. I'm chronically ill. I cant do much except my art that helps my nerve pain and function. That's baking, painting , writing..... anything creative to use that outlet to express myself . Stay Wild Moon Child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.