Poets logo

I Loved You.

Poetry about moving on

By Isabella RenteriaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
3
I Loved You.
Photo by Milada Vigerova on Unsplash

I remember the day we met

It was all so clear to me

As if it were yesterday

You, standing under the sun

Shining brightly like your smile

I fell in love with you at first sight

But I did not say anything

The fear of being rejected by you

Was greater than I ever thought

Even if I wished you’d like me back

I rather to be friends with you

To see you happy

Than to ruin what we had

I kept my mouth shut for years

Until the day came

I finally confessed to you

My heart never broke so much

When you said you loved someone else

Rather than crying and begging you to stay

I stood still with a smile on my face

And told you it was okay

Even if I loved you more than anything

I was willing to let you go.

Because I loved you.

Even if it hurts.

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Isabella Renteria

"Painting is silent poetry, and poetry is painting that speaks." - Plutarch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.