Poets logo

I Loved You

Even when...

By Melissa SteussyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
11
I Loved You
Photo by Kevin Bluer on Unsplash

I loved you even when you weren’t there for me.

I loved you even when you pissed me off.

I loved you even when you irritated the shit out of me.

I loved you even when you turned your back on me.

I loved you even when you put others in front of me.

I loved you even when you acted irrationally and threw fits.

I loved you even when we battled and I thought I knew everything.

I loved you, and I can now see how hard things were for you. I can now, with time see how challenging your circumstances were. I can now feel my life and be present where yours ended too soon.

What I wouldn’t give to sit with you one last time and ask you all the questions I have stirring around my brain.

What I wouldn’t give to have been loved by a mother one last time instead of feeling this endless hole of grief and loss.

You were gone too soon.

I was too young and I didn’t understand your sacrifices. I didn’t understand your addiction. I wish I could have appreciated what it was like to have a mother now that I live with the void and regret of our time together here.

It was too short and while I was at first relieved you were hopefully finally at peace, now I grieve. Now I feel. Now I miss you.

I’m not too good for you anymore. I’m not blinded by my own ego. I see that you were sick and I wish I could’ve helped you.

I wish you could have met your grandson and I wish I still had a mother.

heartbreak
11

About the Creator

Melissa Steussy

Author of Let Your Privates Breathe-Breaking the Cycle of Addiction and Family Dysfunction. Available at The Black Hat Press:

https://www.theblackhatpress.com/bookshop/p/let-your-privates-breathe

https://www.instagram.com/melsteussy/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.