Poets logo

I Love a Good Self Sabotage

Imposter syndrome is one of the many ironies of life.

By R.C. TaylorPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
I Love a Good Self Sabotage
Photo by Jossuha Théophile on Unsplash

Despite my protests in therapy, I must love a good self-sabotage

since no matter what I do any success feels like it must be a mirage

because I'm blind that my desert is actually an oasis and, unfulfilled,

and I keep Sisyphus-ing my self-esteem up false sand dune hills

Everything I've ever been or could be, I worry, will be nothing but a wash.

social commentarysad poetryperformance poetry
4

About the Creator

R.C. Taylor

Part-time daydreamer. Full-time dork.

Follow along for stories about a little bit of everything (i.e. adventure, nostalgia, and other affairs of the heart, and anything else I want to honor and hold space for).

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Ooooh I feel that! ❤️😩

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.