Poets logo

I Know What You Will Like And You Will Fit Right In

I used to be a carnie and it was fun at the time

By Denise E LindquistPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
7
I Know What You Will Like And You Will Fit Right In
Photo by Devon Rogers on Unsplash

I woke one morning to something looking down at me.

I wasn't afraid, as I thought for sure it was a dream, you see.

Turns out it was an extraterrestrial visiting me and she

yes it was a she, as it may have been scary if she was a he!

~

When she explained to me that she was a visitor from afar

I wasn't sure what she had in mind for me, maybe a trip to the bar?

I thought if I take her to the fair, and the midway, I could be sure

that no harm would come to me. She would fit right in and lure

others to her. She wanted to hear more about the train

she heard talked about, and then it started to rain.

~

Some things on the carnival are better left undone,

you don't have to try everything, as it may not be fun.

I learned to know I was safe when there

all I had to say was hey rube and from everywhere

I and whoever would be surrounded.

on all sides, we would be grounded.

~

So there we were and she wanted to take a ride

I told her that was fine but she should decide

what kind of ride she would be ready for.

We started out on the punk rides and she wanted more.

Before she was done, she tried every ride except one.

That train she was told about. Then she would be done.

~

She left this earth with a smile on her face!

When she flew back off into space.

The carnival or space is not my favorite place!

I rode the rides with her until sickness spoiled my riding time.

And the train ride I would never take in my lifetime!

performance poetryslam poetry
7

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Awww, so glad you showed her a wonderful time! Loved your poem!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Love this, Denise!!! Fun carnival for the alien!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    That was fun. Well done, Denise.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.