Poets logo

I Know That When I Go, It Will Feel Like Going Home

A poem.

By Jessie WaddellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
I Know That When I Go, It Will Feel Like Going Home
Photo by Tory Hallenburg on Unsplash

There's a turning point in life,

A moment in time where the pendulum swings,

In the opposite direction.

All the familiar faces of your youth,

Disappear into new lives or into death.

The people that felt like home are long gone,

And what's left is new and necessary,

But it will never quite be the 'home' you came to know as a child.

-

Once you reach adulthood,

And you lose enough people,

You never get to feel that kind of 'home' again.

You build a new life, with new people,

You have a house, a family, a job,

Security.

But home is a people.

The people that were there,

When you took your first breaths,

Your first steps.

-

I wouldn't call myself a believer,

But there has to be something after the end.

Otherwise, what's the point?

A life lived can't possibly just cease,

The spirit must live on somewhere, surely.

It's a comforting sense of faith,

To feel like you're being watched over by those who are gone.

It takes the fear out of your own time.

-

With so many spirits floating in the never never,

Wherever ever it is we go in the end,

It comes full circle—it has to.

And although I'll wander through life a little lost,

The walls of the house built so long ago,

Slowly being torn down and renovated,

Over and over again.

I know,

That when I go, it will feel like going home.

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

Jessie Waddell

I have too many thoughts. I write to clear some headspace. | Instagram: @thelittlepoet_jw |

"To die, would be an awfully big adventure"—Peter Pan | Vale Tom Brad

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.