Poets logo

I Just Woke Up

Scared shitless...

By ©I.M. "That Girl," Inure MusePublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

I was this girl, in a place, filled with people.

Another, girl, brought me there.

This bitch with long black hair, waist length, fair skin, light flesh, light eyes.

Blue.

She looked, like a girl I once new, but it wasn't, Megs.

Though it looked like her.

In this place... nothing but, shipping containers, filled, with girls, in

squalled conditions.

I mean, it looked, like, someone tried to make bootleg apartments and

penthouses, out of tenement yards, shoved into a shoe boxes.

Doors with no locks.

You couldn't get out; no matter which corner you turned, or where you

walked. It was a fucking maze... a haze.

Each turn, and dark corner, lead you deeper into this field of lost eyes

and hollow people.

You could see it.

Their willingness to live,

Even fight for themselves...

Hope?

They could no longer feel it.

I screamed for help. No sound came out.

I ran for a phone, in this place, I'm assuming, where we were sent to.

And a man approached me, saying to me that,

"It would be a bad idea, for me, to call the cops."

His glance, threatening, menacing; as if to get me to put down the phone.

Another dark figure, came from around the corner, smiling...

because he knew I was alone.

By myself, in what appeared to be, a bar... of some sort.

A brown man from behind the bar back, a bartender, made eye contact,

but shied away from getting involved... lest he be stabbed in the back.

I verbally shot back: "Fuck you! You don't know who I am! Or who-the-

fuck I'm calling."

And I immediately, called my mom.

Like a small child... lost... calling home.

The only, person (in the world) I can think of when I'm in trouble...

"Phone home."

And of course, as always... no one came to the phone.

A dark skinned man, came from behind, one of the tables and asked me my

name.

And his... uneasy, shifty eyes, made me so nervous, I backed away, as he

approached, just the same.

Pissed that this bitch didn't pick up the phone.

And by the looks of it... I wasn't going home.

The man followed me as I backed away.

And unknowingly, or maybe it was due to the fear in me...

I didn't realize that he had backed me into the same place, I'd desperately

tried to escape.

I woke up, screaming... crying for, "Bae"

©I.M🔮 me... xo

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

©I.M. "That Girl," Inure Muse

Hi! I'm "That Girl Muse," author, artist, muse, poet, surrealist and spirit guide, who uses creativity as a means to heal the mind. Each poem's a lil' bit of Inure Muse's story @Find_the_muse & support my work. You can also book me online!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.