Poets logo

I hoped it was made to last

The cry of an aching heart

By Jillian WeissPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Heartbreak is vicious.

The world was filled with color until it changed and made me shudder. I had striven for your affection and believed that we were going in the right direction. I thought that I was your promise to keep. My heart clung to your words, your sweet, sweet words. I dreamed that those words would be a call to action and that it was meant to be. How naive. I shall forgive, I shall endure, but I will never, never, forget those sweet sweet words. The words that turned into naught but an empty, empty, promise. The heart can be a delicate thing if left unchecked, unguarded, lost in emotions that can make the head such a vicious, vicious mess. The emotions creating a jagged road while the mind keeps questioning the future that you may hold. Here I stand, seeing now that things did not turn out as planned.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jillian Weiss

Hi, my name is Jillian Weiss and I am 21 years old. I am a proud patriot, I love America and enjoy stating my opinion about current events. I've been writing ever since I could pick up a pencil. Join me in this walk of writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.