Poets logo

I Heard a Song by The Weepies Today

a workday poem

By Rebekah ConardPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
2
I Heard a Song by The Weepies Today
Photo by Reynier Carl on Unsplash

Monday is a bad time to fall in love with a song.

Just sitting there, doing my work, then suddenly skipping a breath.

I've heard a guitar before. I've heard a voice before. I think I hear a tambourine. How can this sound feel so new?

I know thousands of words in my native language and hundreds more in others

but this arrangement of syllables is so novel

it may as well be a whole new language.

I didn't retain a single lyric.

/

Monday is a bad time to write a poem about falling in love with a song.

If I put the song on repeat for hours, I can still get some work done.

But here I am, looking at the wrong monitor,

typing the wrong words.

art
2

About the Creator

Rebekah Conard

31, She/Her, a big bi nerd

How do I write a bio that doesn't look like a dating profile? Anyway, my cat is my daughter, I crochet and cross stitch, and I can't ride a bike. Come take a peek in my brain-space, please and thanks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Fabulously written & loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    I really enjoyed this. Wonderfully written with just a sense of randomness and cool thoughts. Loved it! And I just read your bio for the first time...it's hard to not make it sound like a dating blurb, haha!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.