Poets logo

I heard a rumor

Come closer, no, still closer yet

By Novel AllenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
I heard a rumor
Photo by Matty Adame on Unsplash

I heard a rumor

Is it true, is it true

Of parties at Vocal

Were you there, or you, or you?

Who me? Oh no! Not me

But they were, those people over there

Where? Who was there?

Well, come closer, I shall whisper in your ear

Her, her, he was, and him and her

And those people standing over there

What about those over there?

Oh no! Those people are like you and me

You and I, we would not be there

They would not be there

Only people like those and those

And the ones like those other ones over there

Are you sure I heard it right? You ask

Well, I did say, didn't I, that

I heard a rumor

Of course, I'm not sure

Are you calling me a fibber

Cause a rumor is, after all

Just a rumor

Right?

Which is what I said I heard!

N. A.

performance poetryslam poetryfact or fiction

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.