Poets logo

I hear a poem

and I weep

By t.r.h. bluePublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

I hear a poem

And I weep.

Even when it is

my own voice reading

a poem aloud,

I hear its sound, and

I weep.

I have felt, often,

there must be a poem for

every one of

my many heartstrings.

I have not yet found the limit

to my stanza-by-stanza

unraveling. Perhaps

I am made up of

more than I thought.

 

I hear a poem,

and I think I’ve found

in my frame where the

organ of my spirit sits.

It’s somewhere there

with those heartstrings,

constantly unweaving,

faithfully

holding me together.

It is a shout

and it is a sigh

and it is a tearful

sweet lady listening

to a song she’d

loved long ago.

Tell me, how do I

hold all that din

so quietly between the

bones in my chest?

 

I hear a poem, and I

feel my limbs

surrender

to all the things about

being human

that my hands

cannot control:

time, seasons, gravity,

space, mortality;

how my own hourglass

betrays me, teaching me

desire that is infinite but

having not the endurance

to take me much past

eighty-if-I’m-lucky years old;

how death finally

means something to me

now that this body

and everything in it

has been

held by a woman

I love.

art
1

About the Creator

t.r.h. blue

torri r.h. blue is a writer, poet, artist, photographer, and advocate. She writes poetry from West Michigan, where she lives with her wife, Alex, and their son Auden.

www.notesontheway.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.