Poets logo

I have my own hand to hold.

Able to love me more

By owenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
I have my own hand to hold.
Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

For best experience, listen to my music while reading this poem.

...

We were good, we were gold,

Once a love story untold,

But we fell apart, like broken glass,

Our once strong love, didn't last.

I didn't wanna leave you,

But our love was built on lies,

So I picked myself up, and I started to rise,

And I bought myself some flowers,

And I wrote my name in the sand,

And I talked to myself for hours,

And I made peace with all my pain.

I can take myself dancing,

And I can hold my own hand,

I can love me better, that's a fact.

I painted my nails cherry red,

Matching the roses you left in my bed,

But no remorse, no regret,

I forgave every word you said.

So if you're ever feeling down,

Just remember what I found,

That you can love yourself better,

And there's no one else who can do it better.

I can love me better, baby,

Can love me better, that's right,

And no matter what life throws my way,

I'll always love myself, day and night.

So go ahead and try to love yourself,

And you'll see it's not hard at all,

And when you do, you'll find happiness,

That can't be bought, it's free for all.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

owen

Composer, poet, and essayist, with a deep interest for philosophy, psychology, food, and interactive media. https://linktr.ee/wagyuadobo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sabiha UHabout a year ago

    Poems can be a way to explore and confront difficult topics related to mental health and wellness.https://vocal.media/poets/whoso-list-to-hunt

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.