Poets logo

I hate to lie

I love you is all I want to say, but I’ll hold my breath instead

By NMGPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
I hate to lie
Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

I lied on my bed, waiting for movement to return to my legs

Waited for you to come back and say you had to go

But you didn’t, instead you moved me over,

And in one swing your arm was under me, my head nestled in your chest

You shouldn’t have done that,

As minutes passed, the tighter I wanted to hold on

The more I dozed off into a different land, the more I wrapped my legs around yours...

If you’re a snoozing baby bear,

Do call me your koala bear

As I lied there, I bit my tongue and told my heart to shut up

How bad I wanted to slip and say it,

How bad I wanted to pretend I was sleep talking

But I knew any sound of it would ruin this moment

You’d run and never come back ...

So I remained in silence, screaming it at the top of my lungs ... inside

Fell asleep with a smile on my face,

I wasn’t on my bed anymore, I was flying high

Did not want to let go, it hurt so bad

Hurts to pretend that I don’t care

Hurts to pretend I’m not attached

Hurts to pretend you don’t spin my world

Hurts to pretend you’re not my gravity and space at the same time

I’m a useless globe standing still without you

I’m the moon without Earth

Can’t you see?

I’m a grenade waiting to be set off,

Wish I had toxins, to say it just once and pretend to not remember

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

NMG

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.