Poets logo

I Hate/ Love You

Conflicting Emotions

By ImperfectlyPerfectPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
5

The heart is foolish sometimes

And I know that

You weren't what I needed

I mistakenly believed

Love can conquer all

BUT

Our disagreements drove me to hate

So

I was undeniably detached from reality

Sinking too deeply into my emotions

I wasn't thinking as clearly as I do now

Because we started dating so young

Back then I assumed everything would be perfect

But soon came those rainy days

I had been obliviously caught up in the "honeymoon phase"

I assumed loving you would always be easy

Since we seemed to balance one another so effortlessly in the beginning

And that was my biggest mistake

It's amazing how quickly love transitioned to hate

The heart is foolish sometimes

heartbreak
5

About the Creator

ImperfectlyPerfect

My favorite well known saying: An amateur does it until they get it right, while a professional does it until they can't get it wrong. Don't work to get it right, work to not get it wrong!"

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    I love the self reflection both ways brings.

  • Hayley Matto3 months ago

    This was STELLAR! You tackled that inverse!!

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    A poem than probably EVERYONE can relate to at some time in their life.

  • This poem flows perfectly both ways. Great job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.