Poets logo

I Had.

A dream...

By SM NolanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

I had a dream.

One, amongst many, it churned deep within me.

It churned too long though,

Every whisk, each flick of the wrist.

It began to sunder.

But not before my eyes, it was too polite.

Slowly, it divorced us, compromising itself in each debate.

It waned. Watching it’s blood spill out.

It watched, steadfast, with hungry reservation.

Complacently, knowing full well what it surrendered.

Dormant it lay, finding warmth in its vanity.

It arose for conversation, insubstantial at best.

Unloading the burden, of its hidden guilt.

It ate, only scraps, filling it’s stomach.

Distraction from the mess, a satiated mind.

I had a dream.

Why one and not the many? Why can’t we be fulfilled.

Strong starts give way to muck.

Mired heavy in dissolution.

Not mine, but your confusion.

I had a dream.

Watched it from afar.

I had a dream.

It sank, staring up at me all the while.

The fervor in its eyes, gave way.

Roiling, waves of preoccupation, buried our gaze.

But my heavy eyes failed to see.

My ears failed to hear.

My voice failed to extend itself…

Beyond the clearing of my throat.

I had a dream.

But I can barely remember…

Why I had it in the first place.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

SM Nolan

An aspiring author following through on a long overlooked ambition. Re-discovering myself due to a life altering injury and kindling a passion for words and story. I hope you enjoy. Read, enjoy, comment...stay awhile.

-SM

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.