Poets logo

I GOT A TICKET TO THE WORKHOUSE

And I don’t know if my heart is broken or not?

By Paul AslingPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I GOT A TICKET TO THE WORKHOUSE

Born to a life of destitution

I got a ticket to the workhouse.

Separated from my family

Stripped of clothes and possessions

Deloused and disinfected.

Starvation and sickness rampant

A place where no one smiles

And hunger gnaws at me like a worm.

A day-to-day fight to stay alive

No better than prison

Labelled an inmate

The language is the same.

The foul stench

Of urine and vomit

Coats the washroom.

Barred windows

Cream paint flaked walls

Iron beds and thin sheets.

Three meals a day

Bread, porridge and potatoes

Unfit for human consumption

Sometimes chewing the marrow

Out of rancid bones.

Wind blowing through my hair

In the middle of the night

Locks opening, doors slamming

People lying like corpses in the dim light.

Now breaking stones and old bones

I don’t know if my heart is broken or not?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Paul Asling

I share a special love for London, both new and old. I began writing fiction at 40, with most of my books and stories set in London.

MY WRITING WILL MAKE YOU LAUGH, CRY, AND HAVE YOU GRIPPED THROUGHOUT.

paulaslingauthor.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.