Poets logo

I Found A Strange Thing

A poem

By MaervelPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
I Found A Strange Thing
Photo by Omer Salom on Unsplash

I just found the strangest thing

I wasn’t looking for it

You could say it creeped up on me

Beneath layers and years of dried out cares

A mushy spot welling with things I thought were long dead

Behind doors shut tight and locked without a key in sight

A thumping little thing that whimpered out a weak call

I stuck out cold hands to the strange thing

It didn’t belong here

You could say it thought otherwise

For in the wet unfriendly place it had been stuck

It had built a little more than a shed

Stoked a fire and finally found a spark to light it

The warmth I wasn’t expecting as the ice started to melt

I let this heart feel again

It seemed to be used to this

You could say it was waiting all this time for this

For at the sight of the little spark, it had sprung to life

Thought itself ready to thump again

This strange thing was ready to beat again

I let it, but only for a while

For it hardly understands now the pain it feels when it breaks again

heartbreak

About the Creator

Maervel

Long before Medicine sought my heart and time, words stood by me and held me in a sweet warm embrace. And here again, they remind me that we are far from done on this journey.

Observer|Thinker|Feeler|Writer

Maybe someday I'll love again.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MaervelWritten by Maervel

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.