Poets logo

I flushed my toilet today, and it flushed back at me.

a story of a modern day peasant

By The Expedition NarrativePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I flushed my toilet today, and it flushed back at me.

It churned and spun, swirled and swum, and poured over the edge.

Lucky me.

In this moment, my phone alarm blared so loud a sparrow fell from the tree.

It would have been comical perhaps ironic but my “career” was waiting

for me.

My car had forty miles left, but work was forty-three.

I thought “ill take the bike”, but the heat was 115, a new spike. Sweat accumulating now.

Lucky me.

I clocked in for work to find doughnuts and coffee for free.

My coworker called out, a bad case of gout, I’m alone again.

Help me.

On the phone, back at home, dad said grandma had discovered tai chi.

“I’ll try it tonight”, my date canceled, what a plight, dinner for 1.

Lucky me.

I look at the news more violence and nudes, but this cute kitten saved from a tree.

More political humor, o wait, it’s Chuck Schumer, bless our country.

Praise be.

“O shit.” It’s the first, my rent is due, I shouldn’t have bought that pack of tea

My bank account shows, cross my fingers and toes, an amount with digits of

three.

Tonight, I flushed my toilet, and it flushed back at me.

It churned and spun, swirled and swum, and I cried the whole time.

Lucky me.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

The Expedition Narrative

---My life, an expedition, shared with you ----

https://www.the-exploration-narrative.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • JeRon Baker5 months ago

    I’m here because of your story about Saturn. Your titles alone captivated me and it seems like you’re just beginning. More power to you!🙌🏾

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.