Poets logo

I Fell In Love At First Sight -A Poem For My First Love

Love Is Real

By Subham RaiPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Fell In Love At First Sight -A Poem For My First Love
Photo by Caleb Ekeroth on Unsplash

Being told "I love you" by you could very well be a turning point in my life.

The high point of my life, the best sensation, the highest point

In the same manner that the Chrysler Building appears on my emotional graph,

Although it is not the tallest structure in the New York skyline,

The best, most finely spired, or the manner in which

Hank Aaron's career total of home runs is not the highest.

but the greatest, the one that represents true excellence.

So unlikely! To have met you at all, and then to have

so soon in your lovely young voice

"I love you," I said after meeting you. And I felt the enigma.

Being that you, being both you and not a you

Being that you, being with you and not a you

I was quickly liked, and what I was was someone's

Who else could say "I love you" to someone like you?

I was new at the time; you were 19 and I was 22.

You were reckless; I was standing there in front of you, with a future.

That had not yet been used as fuel; I was energized.

You were lovely, and your eyes were a delicate blue.

And they supported what you said with everything they hadn't seen,

And they were the least ambitious eyes I'd ever seen, the least calculated, and when you spoke and when they spoke,

They sparkled, and perhaps you saw the effect you had on them.

Perhaps you, too, saw that the feeling would last.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Subham Rai

Just trying to write and discover myself through writing. On my way to write and live to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.