Poets logo

I Feel Sorry for You

"I feel sorry for you."

By Miss MariahPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I feel sorry for you

That your heart's detached

You've mistaken being able to not care as a strength

I wonder of what darkness reflects in your soul

I feel sorry for you

& whatever conditioned you to be this way

Maybe it's your way of protecting yourself

Or you're scared of being vulnerable

I feel sorry for you

& the wall you've built

The one meant to keep it all out

But it's just keeping you in

I feel sorry for you

Whatever you think your sparing yourself from

Closing yourself off

You're wrong

I feel sorry for you

The things that must go through your mind

How often you must have to remind yourself it has to be that way

But it doesn't

I feel sorry for you

& the lost potential to be something great

To feel something great

It has to get lonely

I feel sorry for you

What are you hiding from

Because it's not pain

It's yourself

I feel sorry for you

Because you may not even see it

You've tricked yourself into such a state

To be numb is better than to be hurt right

I feel sorry for you

That's no way to live

If no one can reach you

How could they love you

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.