Poets logo

I Feel Like Crying, But for Good Reasons

I'm crying, crying over you. A poem by E Lloyd Kelly

By E. Lloyd KPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
I Feel Like Crying, But for Good Reasons
Photo by Claudia Wolff on Unsplash

Crying, crying, crying over you. Just another poem of the times.

I feel like crying, I said, I feel like crying… And you ask me whying? Well, I can’t be lying. It’s my people, it is for my people that I’m a-crying. I would have looked, and that’s when I was to see. I saw them there, across from me. Wearing a frown, where there should have been a tear. And yet more tearing down of the gear, of the gown, the garments even.

They are angry, mad they are. Righteous indignation burns like hot tar. For all of this nastiness. For the pile of scraps, that which this traitor has gone and written. There is no forgetting that, no. No forgiving back. But oh how one would have liked for them to have looked, and to have seen. The generous sprinklings of treasures, and all other precious things. Scattered unsparingly, and in between.

Which was the only real reason for this, to begin. The stack pile of scraps was just there to hide them in. But they are my people like children, aren't they? This too shall pass on, for this too we’ll pray. I must run along now though, but before I’m done. Of all that was said, I must remind you of one. The robots are coming, and as for them? They ain’t praying none.

Don’t worry though, your breakthrough is on the way. Elkhan, I mean, A-can. A-can has been unmasked and showed up today. You have found him, and his accursed things too. You have plucked them out from where they were hiding amongst you. From among them, he has been shown up and cast out too. And now, look at it, Canaan is in view.

Sanctify now thyself every one of you. Wash your clothes and bathe your skin. Be clean against tomorrow. Because the bands are coming through. Coming to deliver you, and to take you now over into the lands and into all of the wonderful things that the Lord your God. Had promised, and planned. And had purposed in her heart to do for you, to you.

For all of you wonderful people too. Now be sure to remain sanctified and holy. Even as you are this day. Show me, I say. For the Lord your God is holy, and she’s coming your way. Never allow another such thing to happen to you. Never allow another such person as A-can to rise up, or to come in, amongst you. Or else, a worse thing might come upon you…

Continue on now in this the right way. As you have made it happen, even to this day. Come, let us now reason together, saith the Lord of the host, and your savior. Even God. And your father. If no one would have told you, you probably would not have known. Because you didn’t know it though, doesn’t mean that’s not how it went down. So.

Which of your emotions is going to rule supreme here today? Anger, or laughter? Let’s choose laughter I pray, its medicine to the soul they say. So, let’s laugh at ourselves a little, and maybe we’ll begin to live a little bit more, and love a lot, as before. Yeah! Like that. Don’t get discouraged by the letdowns and by the put-downs. Use this as fuel for the fire. And you would have arrived home, fully grown up, and higher.

By E Lloyd Kelly, 2020.

An excerpt as taken from my new book "Backsliding." It's now available on Amazon/Kindle. Get a copy here. #poemofthetimes

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

E. Lloyd K

E Lloyd Kelly is an author, poet, podcaster, & blogger. Born in Jamaica, W.I. Now resides in Mtl. Where, when not writing, drives a shuttle bus at McGill University Check my podcast at inkyitalk.com. Connect: https://linktr.ee/writingelk

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.