Poets logo

I Dreamt, I Didn't

Sleep Eludes Me

By Ernesto LaceroPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
1
I Dreamt, I Didn't
Photo by Fabian Oelkers on Unsplash

Kill the night.

It's late & I'm tired of sleepless replies to my idle curiosity.

The accords of men

& their fears. If I were a god

I would cradle the stars below Earth's waterline

—my hands collapsing into themselves.

Pulling apart constellations,

like the flesh of a stone fruit; counting sheep.

Eyeing myself thru the dimness of breathing,

nails forming into roots, into

the reach of the unknowing.

In the depths of caverns, I sleepwalk

backwards into myself. Wide-eyed

in a perpetual haze.

I digress, attempting to realign.

Unfurling in front of brethren & their ilk

who keep me up on the cusp of night.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Ernesto Lacero

poetry & whatnot.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah D10 months ago

    wow, that is writing! Read mine? https://vocal.media/fiction/an-irrevocable-dream-about-a-mermaid

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.