Poets logo

I don't want

-

By Angela HolmesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I don't want
Photo by Josh Nuttall on Unsplash

I don’t want

To have to keep saying no

So stop offering

I don’t want

To have to pretend to laugh

So stop joking

I don’t want

To turn down the invites

So stop including

I don’t want

To say I’m fine and lie to your face

So stop asking

I don’t want

To leave the only place I feel safe for even a moment

So stop suggesting

I don’t want

To fake feeling good natured and have to be kind against my will

So stop needing

I don’t want

This hurt or this darkness or this meanness or this bitter, twisted mess that robs me of my smile and makes a miser of me that convinces me in my bed is safer than out no matter how brightly the sun is shining inside my heart is midnight

And I don’t want it

So stop me.

©Angela Holmes

https://www.samaritans.org/

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Angela Holmes

Actor/Writer/Jack of all trades.

From Manchester, living in London.

Working on my first novel - a dystopian YA set in a post-pandemic world, which I started back in 2017 and is now eerily relatable..

Huge bookworm and it's all my Nana's fault.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.