Poets logo

I Don't Have Attachments

No really, I don't!

By KBPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Don't Have Attachments
Photo by Rachel Coyne on Unsplash

I don’t have attachments.

No really, I don't!

Not to physical objects,

Not to living things.

*

My hair, for example,

I don’t have an attachment to my hair;

I will never cry after getting my haircut

But I won’t get it dyed.

*

Hey, I like its natural texture.

I don’t have attachments, I'll prove it;

I can lend you all of my favorite books

But don’t you dare bend the corners.

*

Okay but look,

I don’t have attachments;

My mom’s birthday is not my phone password

But her favorite number is, 17.

*

This one is good,

I don’t even have an attachment to memories;

I can’t remember what I ate for breakfast

But the day you left I know what outfit you wore.

*

I swear, this will make sense now,

I don’t have attachments;

Because when you left, I was fine

But I did dye my hair.

*

Fine.

Fine.

Fine.

You’re right.

I have attachments.

There’s nothing wrong with needing comfort.

Security.

Patterns.

*

Maybe what I have

An attachment to most

Is lying.

*

Because when you left,

I wasn't fine.

You were my comfort.

*

Did you really have to

Make me say it aloud?

heartbreakperformance poetry
Like

About the Creator

KB

A snippet of life. Some real, some not. Thanks for reading!

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=kb

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.