Poets logo

I do, I am

A poem about identity

By Kyle PreedyPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
2
I do, I am
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Is how I feel what others see

Who am I to them and to me.

I sat and pondered on that thought

The more I did an answer I sought.

What I stand for in my head

Seemed so clear and put to bed.

Though I come to realise talk is cheap

A conscience clear a path set steep.

My actions are what I will be judged

Morals known refuse to budge.

To be honest and true is my goal

The choices I make will show it whole.

I will make it clear and must on my own

My identity I am, my identity now known.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Kyle Preedy

Trying something new, come along for the journey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This reminded me of when Albus Dumbledore said, "It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities." Loved your poem so much!

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    This is an interesting and thought-provoking poem. well done and welcome to the platform!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.