Poets logo

I Did It For You

A Poem for the Strongest Woman I Know

By Annika DavilaPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
My Mother in the hospital last year after her Cancer Removal Surgery (She has gone back 2 times since then, and is currently there.)

I did it for you, Mama.

I worked myself to the bone all day every day.

I did it for you, Mama. I gave up time with my friends.

I did it for you, Mama. I tried my hardest to get along with, them.

I did it for you, Mama. I received my diploma.

I do it for you, Mama. I hide my struggles everyday.

I do it for you, Mama. I keep myself secret from everyone.

I do it for you, Mama. I try to be strong.

I will do it for you, Mama. I will make something of myself.

I will do it for you, Mama. I will become a strong, independent woman.

I will do it for you, Mama. I will find my purpose in this world.

I will do it for...who? For you? For them? For us? Or, for me?

Me. I will become strong. For Me. I will be someone. For Me. I will find out who I am…For Me. I can not do it for anyone else, except, Me. Everything I do, I have to do it for myself. I have to become someone that I am proud of. Someone that you can be proud of, Mama.

I did it for me, Mama.

I distracted myself with work.

I did it for me, Mama. I gave up time with the friends who never really cared.

I did it for me, Mama.

I tried my hardest to get along with them, so I wouldn't make you sad.

I did it for Me. I received my diploma.

I do it for me. I hide my struggles every day, so you don't have to worry.

I do it for me. I keep myself secret from everyone so I don't worry.

I do it for me. I try to be strong. As strong as I know you are.

I will do it for me. I will make something of myself.

I will do it for me. I will become a strong, independent woman.

I

WILL

DO

IT

FOR

ME

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Annika Davila

Mormon||Bisexual||TV Fanatic||Pop Culture Enthusiast||Movie&TV Buff||Lover Not Fighter||"Always Keep Fighting"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.