Poets logo

I'd Like To Write a Poem

This is a poem I wrote a very long time ago, and I think it should be read. Please enjoy.

By Kacie KasperPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
1

I'd like to write a poem.

Something moving, something wise.

I'd like my words to linger, long after my demise

I'd like to write of daffodils and lonely, wandering clouds

of sailing ships, and daring quests at sea.

But all the while I sit here.

It's not my voice that I hear

It's the golden tones of poets past that whisper in my ear.

Have all the noblest words been writ?

Has it all been said before?

Will there ever be a place for me upon that swollen shore?

If I close my eyes,

and listen for a voice that's fresh and clear,

Will there ever be the slightest chance It's my voice that I hear?

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Kacie Kasper

Just a girl trying to find a way <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.